I’ll meet you there

September 27, 2011

 

I lay here feeling the power of this empty moment;

  of breath and skin

Your back, against my chest;

I cannot tell where they end or begin

I want to speak and say a million things;

             To show you all that I am

             To warn of all that I am not

Scramblin for language, I find none that are true;

So I rest…

*

     I rest in the rise and fall of us

     In tears that fall like clear, blood drops

             for they fall from an infinite, open heart;

              both mine and yours

*

     I rest in the way your skin

     has become water for thirsty eyes     

    In how my forearm is awakened,

     as your sleeping breath falls upon it

becomes  it

                  *                 

           After years of laying here, your perfected eyelids open;

they communicate home

This brain tells the heart you were only alseep for minutes;

but this body knows better of time

It “thinks” the word love; it falls short

… but that’s what words do

*

     Tomorrow,

“I never thought a perfect moment existed

… until last night,”

     will escape and betray your “logical self”

     You will tell of an inability to speak of such things

     I will be stunned and acknowledge the same;

     unable to express a reality so fluid and beautiful;

     so full, yet empty

*

In this moment I lay bare my soul;

this heart will allow all that enter fully…

…that I love all things in this way    

That I,

in this space,

cannot settle for  concepts…

cannot love half-way

*

This heart seems to have but one question;

  who will allow me to devour them with my affections?

*

Moments have passed now;

but still, gently, I remain

And as you say you are losing yourself

I say, “please do”

     Lose yourself to a place without thought;

take in air so thick and sensual

your logic can only suffocate

 and surrender

*

If by chance our paths do not cross again;

if they do not allow such a beautiful moment…

at the boundaries of your human heart,

you will find fear;

dissolve into it

*

I’ll meet you there

                                                                         *******

                                                                           *****

                                                                             ***

                                                                              **

                                                                               *

Dedicated to the most beautiful, undying, endless space…

where hearts can truly meet

It is upon us now

*

 The line:  who will allow me to devour them with my affections? –

was taken from a writing (with permission) by Julie B. . .

it put words to my experience perfectly. So again, Julie, thank you.

*

Below is a video of this poem put to still shots and Bon Iver performing, “I can’t make you love me.” 

If any of you would like this done with your writings, just let me know.

 http://www.youtube.com/user/Woih1?feature=mhee

 

2 Responses to “I’ll meet you there”

  1. siubhan said

    This is so infinitely tender… I LOVE those last lines. And I think the montage/set to music idea works very well.

  2. woih said

    Thank you siubhan..I really appreciate your comments

    …starting to think that all I needed to write/say was those last lines..tink everything else falls in place when we do that, ya know?

    thank you again

Leave a Reply

