What I feel

August 20, 2011

Wrote this prayer September 6th, 2006 while in Iraq. A few people said it every morning with me before we went on missions. And from what I was told, they continued saying it after I took off my uniform. It speaks to me again now.

 

     In this night that we drive…

     In this night that is black and darkened with the worst of pain,

     May the blessings of everything around us connect to us.

     I ask not to be swift, accurate or courageous.

     I ask that I will need none of these attributes

     and that our enemies are fortunate enough not to bear the burden of our

lives.

     May kindness, love and the truest compassion bless their soul and

everything that they may touch.

May we feel the repocussions of that love

 …of that most spacious grace

                              Mohandas was the first to show me that there are no enemies,  simply “other.”  But my heart shows me that I still regard and treat my past and greater self as such.

6 Responses to “What I feel”

  1. Meredith said

    This is just soul-touching, Dennis. It means even more to have the story behind it. You’re an amazing guy. Amazing.

    Thank you for sharing your gift.

    ~meredith~

  2. this is beautiful. …
    ..

    i’m lost for words, i’m afraid… 😉 xx

  3. woih said

    Thank you both so much. Kind of in that place again now and am trying to find my way to Kentucky for some silent retreat time. No car, no money….STILL gonna make it.

    I wish you both the most nourishing day possible,
    Dennis

  4. TheMsLvh said

    Returning your visit to be brought to a special place. First I want to Thank you for your Service and you came back to us! Time is your friend.Loved the poem. Take care, you have an wonderful life infront of you!

  5. Dennis, this touched me deeply. Some Americans have visions of hoo-rah let’s go kill us some A-rabs as the troops, but the fact is, no one wants to kill or be killed. Your prayer lives on; this is the best “continued service to your country” that could happen. Thank you for putting your life on the line. I’m a pacifist, and I support the troops 100% because they are the ones in harm’s way, not the elite decision makers. Peace, Amy

  6. woih said

    I forgot all about tis until I pulled it out the other day. A handful of us wrote it on our bandanas and wore them while on the road. Wile cleaning out my closet I came across it and felt the power that it had for all of us while there.

    I am truly glad you are able to appreciate it and please feel free to pass it on to any one you know will also.

    working towards understanding it,
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

