the hand that feeds

September 15, 2010

I look around, and begin to wonder

As I sit in silence awaiting your greed

This moments’ witness, earth and thunder

         We were the proud, marveled by others

         The thrones of man, carved us to our knees

         I look around, and begin to wonder

We would always be plenty, you did infer

And still in this second, you do not see

This moments’ witness, earth and thunder

         Looking upon you,  you seem not disturbed

         About  how this will effect, your family

         I look around, and begin to wonder

Think of  my beauty as I’m torn asunder 

To a simple tooth pick,  for crap in your teeth

This moments’ witness, earth and thunder

         My time is up, here is my fir

         As you take this life, from the hand that feeds

         I look around, and begin to wonder

         This moments’ witness, earth and thunder

For Writer’s Island:  prompt was “Last Redwood”….. http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

….this is my first Villanelle!!!! i’m so glad it’s over.

Much, much, much respect to those that are able to express in this form. Very difficult.

9 Responses to “the hand that feeds”

  1. belladonna23 said

    i love the scene this one paints in my head, it’s as if its telling me a story from my own memories…your spirit is obviously one i can connect with. i’ll make sure to check in on your blog 🙂

  2. woih said

    …thank you. I really like your writings.
    Glad you made it over here (i tend to imagine wordpress is a giant city, so you actually stopped by when you came to my page.Hope ya enjoyed the tea) Shut the screen on your way out please.

  3. tillybud said

    How sad to think such a wonderful tree could end up as a toothpick.

    • woih said

      That’s the image that kept popping in my head…I actually felt embarrassed to be human when I wrote that part…Thank you for stoppin in and the thoughts

  4. Woih: your first villanelle deserves thunderous applause. And it really treats the prompt as it deserves.

    • woih said

      Thank you so much vivin! The appaulse is deafening:) And thank you again because it was your villanelle that inspired me to give it a go in the first place.

  5. amanda said

    Well I’m glad that your glad…. I take it this was a tough one? I really enjoyed it, it reminded me of a book called the Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein I think, wonderful poem!

  6. Jingle said

    lovely style..

    the brilliance and wit are valid in your words.

  7. Jingle said

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/09/monday-poetry-potluck-kings-queens-and.html

    Hello, friend:

    Our Monday Poetry Potluck Is NOW open, linking is open from Sunday 8pm to Tuesday, 8pm, welcome join us by linking in 1 to 3 poems, you could use an old poem, the more you share, the happier we are…hurry up!
    Thanks in advance.
    Hope to see you soon…

Leave a Reply

